About tournament

Powerchair Hockey is a dynamic sport which has been constantly changing and developing since its beginning in the seventies in the Netherlands. Although this sport hadn’t come to the Czech Republic before the new century started, we try to catch the Europe and keep the pace. To be able to do that the contact is needed. And this is the reason why the international tournaments are so important.

Prague Cup is an international tournament has been organised by the sports club EWSC Prague with its team Jaguars since 2009. It was founded as the first international tournament of Powerchair Hockey in Prague. It was founded just because of the need of the contact with the foreign game, which is so important for our development. The comparison is a great motivation to improve and show us the real level of our game, which is not so visible in still small Czech league competition.

The tournament Prague Cup has been held since the year 2009 every other year. There is the fifth year of this tournament in 2017.

Eight foreign teams from five countries (Belgium, Italy, Germany, the Netherlands, Slovenia) participated in 2009. The tournament was taken by two teams from the Netherlands with Star Riders winning. There was other important moment that year and it was the beginning of the cooperation with the City police of Prague. They have been helping with the organization almost every big Powerchair Hockey event in Prague since then.

Although there were less participating foreign teams (5 teams) of Prague Cup in 2011, the tournament turned to be also good. The game transferred from the gym in Střední odborná škola stavební a zahradnická to the Sports hall Radotín, where our tournament has taken place since then. And another interesting thing was the place of the final dinner and ceremony – the highest floor of the highest Prague´s building – City Tower at Pankrác. The team Torpedo Ladenburg, which has participated in all years of this tournament so far, won Prague Cup 2011.

The year 2013 was in the name of the record participation – nine foreign teams came. The capacity of all rooms was filled up to the last place with 12 teams in total (plus 3 Czech teams). The final dinner and ceremony transferred to Žluté Lázně at the bank of Vltava. We came back there also in the year 2015. The best scorer not only of the year 2013 but Prague Cup in its whole existing history was Marcel van den Muysenberg with 50 goals. It isn´t a surprise that his team Star Riders finally won Prague Cup 2013.

Prague Cup 2015 was the last so far and seven teams in total participated (4 foreign teams). It was possible to play in one preliminary group with the system “each with each”. Jaguars reached the semifinals at their tournament for the first time and finally took the fourth place, which has been our best result at Prague Cup so far. The tournament was won by De Pont Rotterdam.